Friday, June 29, 2012
Thursday, June 28, 2012
Step Up Class Day 5: Exploring Careers, Animation with Photoshop, Class Conclusion
Hello Students,
Today we will use Career Locker to explore careers, which is part of all ROP classes. We will also have a short animation project using Photoshop and conclude this weeks class with presentation of certificates for participating and completing your work in our step up class.
Project 1: CareerLocker
Today we will use Career Locker to explore careers, which is part of all ROP classes. We will also have a short animation project using Photoshop and conclude this weeks class with presentation of certificates for participating and completing your work in our step up class.
Project 1: CareerLocker
Students, you can use Career Locker to research careers and salaries and discover the education path needed to achieve your desired career goals. Your assignment is to complete the personal globe inventory on careerlocker.com and research details for 3 different jobs using the occupations section on careerlocker. Each student will present their findings to the rest of the class so we can learn about lots of different careers.
Enter Registration Code scc-c846
Enter your personal information
Enter your Grade and Gender. For Group, select Wilson and any other ROP instructors you have
Agree to terms
Select "Assessments"
Select "Personal Globe Inventory"
Answer all the questions in the assessment
Analyze the results...
Job Research:
Click on the "Occupations" tab and click on "Browse Occupations"
Search for a job title, something your would be interested in. Research 3 jobs and why you would be interested in those jobs. Tell me information about your favorite job such as:
- Job Title
- Job Description
- Job Activities
- Education Needed
- Career Pathway
- Salary Range
You can write up your research and post it on your blog. When your research is complete, work through these other assessments:
- Work Skills
- Work Styles
- Learning Styles
Gif Assignment:
- Create an animated gif, you can use photographs to make a timed slideshow, or a short animation with sequential drawings
- Follow the instructions below as a rough guide only. There are several ways to make animated gifs in photoshop
- This Gif should have at least 4 frames of animation or images
- After your create one, try making a second
How to make an animated Gif with Photoshop:
- Launch Photoshop
- FILE / OPEN a new document at your desired size, I made mine at 200X180 Pixels. It's a good idea not to make Gif files too large, otherwise they can take along time to load over an internet connection.
- Your animation can be a series of images, photos etc. You can hand draw each frame the animation also. The key is to set up separate layers that you will turn into frames of animation. Im using some pictures I took of my dog.
- Click your top Layer, then while holding SHIFT click on your bottom Layer to select all layers
- On your Animation Palette Sub-Menu select Make Frames From Layers
- If you don't see individual frames in your Animation Palette, go to the Sub-Menu and select Convert To Frame Animation
- You can now designate individual durations on each frame.
- Go to FILE / SAVE FOR WEB AND DEVICES to export your animation as an animated Gif file. Make sure to set your looping options to forever.
- Open your Gif file in a web browser to test it. Here's my result:
- Mr. W
Wednesday, June 27, 2012
Step Up Class Day 4: Color Theory, Photography and Photoshop
Hello Students,
Todays we will learn about Color Theory and how it is important to art and design. We will also take photographs with digital cameras and use photoshop to make digitally altered images.
Todays Agenda:
Color Theory Lecture
Team Digital Photo Project
Digital Photography Project:
Andy Warhol was a painter, printer and filmaker and one of the originators of the pop-art movement. His images were often of mundane subjects such as a campbells soup can, and had deep levels of contrast.

Your next assignment is to process one of your photographs into the Andy Warhol signature style. Follow my tutorial below.
Todays we will learn about Color Theory and how it is important to art and design. We will also take photographs with digital cameras and use photoshop to make digitally altered images.
Todays Agenda:
Color Theory Lecture
Team Digital Photo Project
Digital Photography Project:
Andy Warhol was a painter, printer and filmaker and one of the originators of the pop-art movement. His images were often of mundane subjects such as a campbells soup can, and had deep levels of contrast.

Your next assignment is to process one of your photographs into the Andy Warhol signature style. Follow my tutorial below.
The Andy Warhol Process in Photoshop CS5:
Open up one of your favorite pictures that you have taken during this class in Photoshop.

Create a copy of the background layer

Go to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation

Pull down the Saturation slider until your image is black and white

Next, go to Image > Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast

And adjust the brightness and contrast until your image looks "high contrast"


Create a copy of the background layer

Go to Image > Adjustments > Hue/Saturation

Pull down the Saturation slider until your image is black and white

Next, go to Image > Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast

And adjust the brightness and contrast until your image looks "high contrast"

Then go to Image > Threshold

And adjust the Threshold slider until your image looks satisfactory

Next, create a new blank layer to make your first colored section

And grab the Polygonal Lasso Tool, and draw an outline around the elements in your image

Next pick a color from your swatch palette or color picker and fill the selection with your color (Option-Delete, or go to Edit > Fill)

Now change the Blend Mode of your color layer to Darken, this is located on your Layer Palette

And now your image will show through the color

Continue this process until all of your image is filled with color, create a new layer for each color, this is important as you will go back and edit each layer later on.



For an added effect, airbrush the edges of your image with a large brush and black fill color


Then change the Blend Mode to Dissolve

Next, Shift-Select all your layers and go to Layer Palette Sub Menu > Create New Group From Layers. Now you can create copies of those layers and edit the colors of each group like I have below...

Have fun!
- Mr.W

And adjust the Threshold slider until your image looks satisfactory

Next, create a new blank layer to make your first colored section

And grab the Polygonal Lasso Tool, and draw an outline around the elements in your image

Next pick a color from your swatch palette or color picker and fill the selection with your color (Option-Delete, or go to Edit > Fill)

Now change the Blend Mode of your color layer to Darken, this is located on your Layer Palette

And now your image will show through the color

Continue this process until all of your image is filled with color, create a new layer for each color, this is important as you will go back and edit each layer later on.



For an added effect, airbrush the edges of your image with a large brush and black fill color


Then change the Blend Mode to Dissolve

Next, Shift-Select all your layers and go to Layer Palette Sub Menu > Create New Group From Layers. Now you can create copies of those layers and edit the colors of each group like I have below...

Have fun!
- Mr.W
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)





































